If you’re already vegan are you finding it difficult to order when eating out? Do you feel out of place when your friends and coworkers suggest going somewhere to eat?
Let Vegan Eating Out make things easier for you.
Vegan Eating Out presents healthy vegan diet menu choices at popular fast food, refreshment and restaurant chains. Each location has a guide broken down into menu categories to help make your eating decisions quick and easy. At the top of each guide you’ll find the source of the menu information and contact information you can use to be sure that each item fits your vegan diet. When provided, an e-mail from each company explaining which of their menu items are vegan is also available.
Vegan Eating Out is a community for vegans who want to see more options when they go out to eat. You can use Vegan Eating Out as a resource to support the companies that support your diet. Just by being who you are and making the choices you make, you can change the way your diet is perceived. Together we can show the world that vegan food is in demand!
- Ryan Lawrence
Vegan Eating Out uses third-party advertising companies to serve ads when you visit our website. These companies may use information (not including your name, address, email address, or telephone number) about your visits to this and other websites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, click here.
- What does “vegan” mean in terms of Vegan Eating Out?
- What are the numbers next to each location?
- How are the locations categorized?
- Why does Vegan Eating Out include establishments that practice cruelty towards animals?
1. What does “vegan” mean in terms of Vegan Eating Out?
Items on Vegan Eating Out that are designated as vegan:
- Do not contain dairy.
- Do not contain fish.
- Do not contain meat.
- Do not contain poultry.
- Do not contain gelatin.
- May contain l-cysteine. Vegan Eating Out attempts to remove products made with l-cysteine derived from bird feathers.
- May contain honey. These items will be designated with .
- May contain sugar. Refined sugar is often processed with animal bone char. Though the bone char is not part of the sugar many vegans choose to exclude it from their diets.
- May contain trace amounts of animal ingredients (such as those manufactured in facilities that share machinery with dairy products or prepared on a shared surface with a meat product). If you have any concerns please contact the company that offers the item in question.
The following should be noted about all prepared foods:
- Cooking surfaces may be shared and animal ingredients may cross contaminate to vegan foods.
- Vegan foods may share cooking oil with foods containing animal ingredients. Vegan Eating Out attempts to remove items that are likely to share cooking oil, however, always ask your food preparer if you need to be certain.
- Many winemakers use animal products in the processing of wine. It is best to ask the company before deciding whether or not to include wine with your meal.
2. What are the numbers next to each location?
The numbers next to each location are a count of the number of items in these categories:
Made to Order
- Salad Add-Ins
- Made To Order
- Dessert Add-Ins
- Drink Add-Ins
3. How are the locations categorized?
Every location on Vegan Eating Out is put into 1 category that best defines it. These more specific categories appear on the general category pages of Fast Food, Refreshments, and Restaurants. The following is the definition of each category that Vegan Eating Out uses:
- Drive-Through – An informal restaurant with a drive-up window.
- Fast Casual – An informal restaurant with no waiter service.
- Pizzaria – A restaurant specializing in pizza.
- Sandwich Bar – A restaurant specializing in sandwiches.
- Concession Stand – A kiosk that sells entertainment food.
- Bakery – A place where baked goods and pastries are sold.
- Chocolatier – A shop specializing in chocolates and confections.
- Ice Cream Parlor – A store that serves frozen desserts.
- Juice Bar – A location whose offerings consist of juices, smoothies, soft drinks, etc.
- Buffet – A completely self-service restaurant with food available at a central location.
- Cafe – An informal restaurant often specializing in hot beverages.
- Casual Dining – An informal restaurant with a bar serving alcoholic beverages.
- Diner – A small restaurant that resembles a dining car.
- Family Style – A restaurant with waiter service that does not have a bar serving alcoholic beverages.
- Fine Dining – A formal restaurant with waiter service.
4. Why does Vegan Eating Out include establishments that practice cruelty towards animals?
Vegan Eating Out was founded to help bring veganism into mainstream establishments. By showing that there is a demand for vegan food items and providing an easy way for vegans to give feedback to currently nonvegan eateries we encourage companies to take notice of our values and change their current methods of production.
Also, it’s common for vegans to be put in situations where they have an obligation to eat with a group of people in a place that wasn’t of their choosing. Vegan Eating Out may help to ease these situations.