Auntie Anne's E-mail

Received: 05/20/11

The following is the e-mail response from Auntie Anne’s when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Based on feedback from vegan and vegetarian bloggers, we updated our nutrition information. It follows:

Auntie Anne’s Pretzel Mix

Auntie Anne’s Pretzel mix does not directly contain any ingredients from animal, dairy, or egg sources. Our pretzel mix does contain sugar processed in a facility that utilizes bone char filters. This information is provided to assist pretzel lovers in making informed decisions about our products based on the inclusion or exclusion of various animal-derived products. As there are a number of definitions of vegetarianism, some individuals may consider the bone char filters merely a processing aid and not an ingredient.

Pretzel Flavors

Auntie Anne’s Pretzels, served from the warmer, also contain butter. If you order one of the following pretzels without butter, the toppings would not contain any ingredients or by-products from animal sources: Original, Garlic, Jalapeno, Sesame, and Raisin.
We cannot guarantee that the Cinnamon Sugar and Almond toppings are produced in a facility that utilizes vegetarian-friendly filters for sugar processing. For this reason, some vegetarians may wish to avoid these flavors.

Non-Vegetarian Menu Items
Many of our dipping sauces, our Dutch Treat beverages, and the Sour Cream & Onion pretzel topping contain dairy ingredients. Our Pretzel Dog and Pepperoni Pretzel contain meat products.

At-Home Baking Kit

An alternative to consider is to buy one of our At-Home Baking Kits, available at participating stores and a variety of retail locations. This kit allows you to mix, twist, and bake the product in your own home, allowing you more control over the ingredients. As with Auntie Anne’s pretzel mix that is baked at the store, the At-Home Baking Kit does not directly contain any ingredients from animal sources, although it does contain sugar processed in a facility that uses bone char filters. The ingredient list for this product may change from time to time; therefore, we encourage you to refer to the full ingredient list located on the packaging.

Will you change your sugar supplier?

In general, Auntie Anne’s products contain sugar sourced from the same supplier. While this supplier currently utilizes bone char filters they are exploring changing this practice, and Auntie Anne’s is considering other suppliers that utilize more vegetarian friendly practices. Unfortunately, Auntie Anne’s cannot guarantee making a change to more vegetarian friendly sugar in the near future.

Other Questions?

For questions related to Auntie Anne’s products and how they impact your diet, please contact Customer Care at 1-877-PRTZ-LUV (1-877-778-9588), option 2 or e-mail us at nutrition@auntieannesinc.com.