Baja Fresh E-mail

Received: 01/28/09

The following is the e-mail response from Baja Fresh when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Baja Fresh. Unfortunately, we do not provide a separate, vegetarian menu. I can, however, provide the following information.

There are no animal products in the preparation of our rice or beans; however, when we plate the beans on some entrees, they are sprinkled with Cotija Cheese. The Cotija Cheese can be eliminated upon request. Our tortilla soup has a chicken base. We do not use any other type of chicken or beef broth.

The manufacturer ingredient specifications for the Jack Cheese and Cheddar Cheese used in our restaurants do not contain animal rennet. The Cotija Cheese used in some of our menu items does contain animal rennet, and can be eliminated upon request.
The following Baja Fresh menu items contain Eggs: Ranch Dressing, Breaded Fish, Fish Salsa and Mayonnaise.
The following Baja Fresh menu items contain Milk/Whey: Sour Cream, Jack, Cheddar and Cotija Cheese, Ranch Dressing, Breaded Fish, Flour Tortillas, Tortilla Soup and Salsa Crema.

The following Baja Fresh menu item contains Butter: Ranch Dressing
The above information is based on standard product formulations and is current as of August 15, 2005. Variations may occur due to differences in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions, or product assembly at the restaurant level.

Our ingredient listings are reported by the manufacturers. Baja Fresh(r) Mexican Grill, its franchisees and employees do not assume responsibility for a particular sensitivity or allergy to any food provided in our restaurants. We encourage anyone with food sensitivities, allergies, or special dietary needs to consult with a medical professional for informed answers relating to their specific sensitivities and the risks involved when dining out.

We hope this answers your question.