Chick-Fil-A E-mail

Received: 05/25/11

The following is the e-mail response from Chick-fil-A when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Chick-fil-A. You are very important to us, and we appreciate your correspondence.

We understand vegetarians have special dietary needs and want them to be able to enjoy our menu while adhering to their diet. Our restaurants try very hard to accommodate customers with special requests. We offer several items that can be modified to fit into a vegetarian and vegan diet. However, because special requests are not already prepared, please call your local Chick-fil-A restaurant ahead of time to order your meal or be prepared to wait a few minutes for your item to be specially made.

The following table lists all the items we believe to be vegetarian or vegan. We assume vegetarian to mean a person who does not eat any meat, poultry or fish but does include milk and eggs in their diet. We assume a Vegan to be a person who does not eat any foods of animal origin, including ingredients from animal origin. We suggest you check the ingredients of each item yourself either on our Web site at www.chick-fil-a.com (select Food, Menu & Nutrition and click on the specific menu item, then click on the tab “ingredients”) or in our Nutrition Guide to be sure each item fits your needs.

For Breakfast:

Vegetarian

Biscuit
Biscuit with egg
Biscuit with egg and cheese
Fruit cup
Hashbrowns

Vegan

Plain bagel
Fruit cup
Hashbrowns

For Lunch/Dinner:

Vegetarian

Side salad
Any Entree salad without chicken
Any Cool Wrap without chicken
Carrot Raisin Salad
Cole Slaw
Fruit cup
Waffle Potato Fries

Vegan

Side salad without cheese
Any Entree salad without chicken or cheese
Any Cool Wrap without chicken or cheese
Fruit cup
Waffle Potato Fries

Condiments:

Vegetarian

Reduced Fat Raspberry Vinaigrette
Dressing
Blue Cheese Dressing
Ranch Dressing
Spicy Dressing
Thousand Island Dressing
Light Italian Dressing
Croutons
Honey Roasted Sunflower Kernels

Vegan

Reduced Fat Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing
Light Italian Dressing
Honey Roasted Sunflower Kernels

For Dessert:

Vegetarian

Cheesecake
Brownie
Icedream
Lemon Pie
Milkshakes (Chocolate, Vanilla, Cookies & Cream, and Strawberry)

Beverages:

Vegetarian or Vegan

Iced Tea (sweet and unsweet)
Lemonade (regular and diet)
Any soft drink

Again, thank you for thoughtfulness and interest.

What is the source of the l-cystein in the Flatbread? Are the Waffle Potato Fries and Hashbrowns cooked in separately from other items?

hank you for taking the time to contact Chick-fil-A. You are very important to us, and we appreciate your interest in Chick-fil-A.
Unfortunately, we do not know the answer to the source of the L-cysteine in the flatbread.

In regards to your other question, we use two separate pieces of equipment to cook our chicken and our Waffle Potato Fries and Hashbrowns. Our breaded chicken products are cooked in a pressure fryer with a closed lid; whereas our Waffle Fries and Hashbrowns are cooked in an open fryer. The Waffle Fries and Hashbrowns are cooked at a different time and temperature than our chicken.

Again, thank you for your time and interest in Chick-fil-A.



  • Rz

    Honey Roasted Sunflower Seed Kernels aren’t vegan. xD Well, it was a good attempt anyway and still informative.