Cracker Barrel E-mail

Received: 08/21/12

The following is the e-mail response from Cracker Barrel when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us here at Cracker Barrel Old Country Store. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.

As I understand it, there are two types of vegetarians. Type 1 eats no dairy or egg while Type 2 eats dairy and eggs.

A Type 1 vegetarian could eat tossed salad, oatmeal, and baked potatoes. If margarine is not a problem, they also eat corn, carrots, and fried apples.

A Type 2 vegetarian could eat all of the above plus eggs, pancakes, French toast, grilled cheese, eggs in a basket, mashed potatoes, red skin potatoes, biscuits, sour dough bread, grits, and macaroni and cheese.

It should also be noted that all of our fried vegetables are fried in the same oil as our meat products. We want to make sure you know that some of our offerings, like turnip greens, green beans, corn muffins, hashbrown casserole, and pinto beans are made the old-fashioned way using meat seasonings and are not strictly vegetarian.

We hope we have addressed your concerns and look forward to hearing from you and serving you soon.