El Pollo Loco E-mail

Received: 12/15/08

The following is the e-mail response from El Pollo Loco when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

As background, the term “vegetarian” has varying meaning to different customers which is why from a legal standpoint, EPL prefers advising guests as to whether menu items have ingredients of animal origin and we leave them to their own judgment on whether they accept or reject meat; dairy; eggs; glycerides; cochineal etc. EPL typically refrains from referring to a menu item as “vegetarian” or “vegan” at this time.

Do the rice and beans without cheese contain any animal products such as milk, eggs, beef, poultry, ham, or gelatin?

—————————————————————————

Pinto Beans recipe contains no animal products at this time. Do not contain Pork and/or beef at this time.

—————————————————————————

The Spanish Rice recipe contains dairy and animal products at this time.

—————————————————————————

Vegetables contain dairy at this time but may be requested to not have butter

—————————————————————————

The BBQ black beans do not contain lard, pork or beef at this time but does contain animal products such as honey and dairy.

—————————————————————————

The refried beans does not contain ingredients of animal origin.

——————————————————————————————-

Corn tortillas do not contain ingredients derived from animal sources at this time.

—————————————————————————-

Flour tortillas do not contain ingredients derived from animal sources at this time.

—————————————————————————-

I hope this will be of help to you