- What does “vegan” mean in terms of Vegan Eating Out?
- What are the numbers next to each location?
- How are the locations categorized?
- Can I print out everything?
- Why does Vegan Eating Out include establishments that practice cruelty towards animals?
Items on Vegan Eating Out that are designated as vegan:
- Do not contain dairy.
- Do not contain fish.
- Do not contain meat.
- Do not contain poultry.
- Do not contain gelatin.
- May contain l-cysteine. Vegan Eating Out attempts to remove products made with l-cysteine derived from bird feathers.
- May contain honey. These items will be designated with .
- May contain sugar. Refined sugar is often processed with animal bone char. Though the bone char is not part of the sugar many vegans choose to exclude it from their diets.
- May contain trace amounts of animal ingredients (such as those manufactured in facilities that share machinery with dairy products or prepared on a shared surface with a meat product). If you have any concerns please contact the company that offers the item in question.
The following should be noted about all prepared foods:
- Cooking surfaces may be shared and animal ingredients may cross contaminate to vegan foods.
- Vegan foods may share cooking oil with foods containing animal ingredients. Vegan Eating Out attempts to remove items that are likely to share cooking oil, however, always ask your food preparer if you need to be certain.
- Many winemakers use animal products in the processing of wine. It is best to ask the company before deciding whether or not to include wine with your meal.
The numbers next to each location are a count of the number of items in these categories:
Made to Order
- Salad Add-Ins
- Made To Order
- Dessert Add-Ins
- Drink Add-Ins
Every location on Vegan Eating Out is put into 1 category that best defines it. These more specific categories appear on the general category pages of Fast Food, Refreshments, and Restaurants. The following is the definition of each category that Vegan Eating Out uses:
- Drive-Through – An informal restaurant with a drive-up window.
- Fast Casual – An informal restaurant with no waiter service.
- Pizzaria – A restaurant specializing in pizza.
- Sandwich Bar – A restaurant specializing in sandwiches.
- Concession Stand – A kiosk that sells entertainment food.
- Bakery – A place where baked goods and pastries are sold.
- Chocolatier – A shop specializing in chocolates and confections.
- Ice Cream Parlor – A store that serves frozen desserts.
- Juice Bar – A location whose offerings consist of juices, smoothies, soft drinks, etc.
- Buffet – A completely self-service restaurant with food available at a central location.
- Cafe – An informal restaurant often specializing in hot beverages.
- Casual Dining – An informal restaurant with a bar serving alcoholic beverages.
- Diner – A small restaurant that resembles a dining car.
- Family Style – A restaurant with waiter service that does not have a bar serving alcoholic beverages.
- Fine Dining – A formal restaurant with waiter service.
The information on Vegan Eating Out is printable on a page by page basis at the Vegan Eating Out main site. You can find the option to print at the bottom of each page. At this time there is no way to print everything out at once, however there may be a Vegan Eating Out book in the future.
Vegan Eating Out was founded to help bring veganism into mainstream establishments. By showing that there is a demand for vegan food items and providing an easy way for vegans to give feedback to currently nonvegan eateries we encourage companies to take notice of our values and change their current methods of production.
Also, it’s common for vegans to be put in situations where they have an obligation to eat with a group of people in a place that wasn’t of their choosing. Vegan Eating Out may help to ease these situations.