Jack's E-mail

Received: 10/09/08

The following is the e-mail response from Jack’s when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

I am not familiar with vegan menu items. I would assume the vegetables we serve. However, I am not totally familiar of the finite meaning of veganism.

A vegan avoids the following ingredients: Meat (including Chicken), Fish, Milk, Eggs, Cheese, Butter, Gelatin (and other trace ingredients containing animal ingredients such as L-Cystein when it is derived from duck feathers) and depending on the person Honey.

Do you know of any other items that might fit this criteria? (Including honey is okay as long as you note it)

According to your list the following would be vegan menu items:

Spring Salad lettuce, tomato, carrots and cucumbers would need to order without cheese

Grits with out butter

Green beans

Cole slaw

Mashed potatoes

Iced Tea

Coffee

Sodas

Please let me know if you have any other questions.