Manhattan Bagels E-mail

Received: 08/28/12

The following is the e-mail response from Manhattan Bagels when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for your inquiry regarding our policy on declaring our products Vegetarian. As there is no legal definition for vegetarian, we have identified vegetarian as any product that does not contain meat. However, animal derived products, such as milk or eggs may be present in the product.

I am now pleased to say that we have finalized a transition over to a synthetic form of L Cysteine in our bagel recipes. At this time all bagels we produce for Einstein Bros. and Noah’s are made with a synthetic form of L Cysteine that does not contain duck feathers, however, the Kettleman-style boiled bagels in our Portland locations continue to use a form of L Cysteine derived from duck feathers as we are using the original Kettleman’s recipe and have not altered the formulation.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions or concerns.