Olive Garden E-mail

Received: 04/27/12

The following is the e-mail response from Olive Garden when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us at olivegarden.com.

Depending on your personal philosophy, we can suggest the following items as meatless, however they may contain some ingredients, such as butter, that may conflict with your personal philosophy:

Minestrone Soup
Garden Salad
Tomato Sauce
Marinara Sauce
Capellini Pomodoro
Eggplant Parmigiana
Eggless pasta (spaghetti, linguine, fettuccine, angel hair, capellini, penne, shells)
Steamed Veggies

Please be aware that all menu items are prepared in the same area, thereby allowing the possibility of cross introduction with meat or meat-containing product. We must ask that you use your own discretion when ordering these items.

Again, thank you for your interest in Olive Garden. We look forward to serving you soon.

Can vegetable ingredients be custom added to a meal?

Thank you for your email.

You can always custom make an order to fit your needs. So yes, it would be our pleasure to serve you some fresh vegetables along with our tomato sauce and pasta.

If Guest Relations can be of further assistance, please write us again through olivegarden.com (www.olivegarden.com/company/contact_us/ ) or call us at 800-331-2729. We look forward to serving you with Hospitaliano at any of our Olive Garden restaurants.

Are the French Fries cooked in a separate fryer and do they contain any ingredients from an animal source?

Thank you for your inquriy. Our fryers are shared and our French fries do not contain ingredients from animals.

Does the Capellini Pomodoro contain dairy as indicated on your allergen chart?

We appreciate your interest in dining with us. Our capellini pomodoro is made with our marinara sauce which contains dairy in the form of butter.

We hope you find this information useful. We appreciate having you as a valued guest at Olive Garden.

Which of your sauces contain dairy?

Our guests asked us to develop a menu for people with food sensitivities. In response, we introduced new allergen information that specifies whether each menu item contains any of the following ingredients:

Peanuts
Tree Nuts
Shellfish
Fish
Soy
Dairy
Wheat / Gluten
Eggs

As part of our ongoing commitment to transparency and choice in helping you meet your nutritional goals, we are also making available a downloadable and printable version of this menu for our U.S. restaurants at http://www.olivegarden.com/uploadedFiles/Content/pdf/allergen_guide.pdf . While visiting our restaurants; you may obtain this menu from your server.

Since recipes sometimes change, we will update the allergen menu regularly. Please note the effective date printed on each menu, and visit your local Olive Garden or olivegarden.com any time you want a current copy. The allergen menu is now available in our restaurants in the U.S., and will be available for Canada in a few months.

We hope you find this information useful. We appreciate having you as a valued guest at Olive Garden.
We appreciate the time you took to write to us. If Guest Relations can be of further assistance, please reply to this email or write us again through our website at www.olivegarden.com.

What are the current ingredients for the Minestrone Soup?

The ingredient list you requested is provided below:

Minestrone Soup:

Canola Oil, Beta Carotene, Italian-style green beans, Water, Garlic, Vine Ripened Fresh Whole Peeled Tomatoes, Tomato Juice, Salt, Calcium Chloride and Citric Acid, Dark red kidney beans, water, salt, calcium chloride, and disodium EDTA (to preserve color), Great Northern Beans, water, salt, natural flavorings & calcium chloride , Wine, Salt, Potassium Metabisulfite (as Preservative), Black Pepper, Salt, Garlic Powder, with not more than 2% Silicon Dioxide, Salt, Calcium Silicate (an anticaking agent), dextrose, potassium iodide, VEGETABLE PURÉE (CARROTS, ONIONS AND CELERY), SALT, SUGAR, CORN MALTODEXTRIN, CORN OIL, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, WATER, POTATO STARCH, XANTHAN GUM, FLAVOR (CONTAINS TAPIOCA DEXTRIN), CARROT JUICE CONCENTRATE, Semolina, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin and Folic Acid, LIQUID AND HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL, WATER, SALT, VEGETABLE MONO & DIGLYCERIDES, SOY LECITHIN, SODIUM BENZOATE (A PRESERVATIVE), CITRIC ACID, NATURAL & ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA TO PROTECT FLAVOR, BETA CAROTENE (COLOR), VITAMIN A PALMITATE ADDED, MUSHROOMS (MUSHROOMS, WATER, SALT), SALT, CORN MALTODEXTRIN, UNSALTED BUTTER, SUGAR, HYDROLYZED SOY AND CORN PROTEIN, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, HYDROLYZED WHEAT GLUTEN, ONION POWDER, CORN OIL, FLAVOR, HYDROGENATED SOY OIL, LACTIC ACID, CALCIUM LACTATE, BASIL, Carrots, Yellow Onion, Spinach, Oregano, Squash, fresh zucchini, raw zucchini, Enriched Wheat Flour [Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid], Water, Yeast, Contains 2% or less of the following: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Salt, Vital Wheat Gluten, Soybean Oil, Calcium Propionate (A Preservative), Monoglyceride, Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Esters of Mono-Diglycerides (DATEM), Calcium Sulfate, Calcium Peroxide, Enzymes, Azodicarbonamide (ADA), Ascorbic Acid, Green Cabbage



  • Star City RN

    The above e-mail is dated almost two years ago.
    No animal products are listed for the minestrone soup.
    Is this the current ingredient list this product?

    What about the bread sticks, and the marinara sauce; are these products vegan, or not?

    • Jess Collins

      breadsticks aren’t vegan and I am unsure about the sauce