Peter Piper Pizza E-mail

Received: 04/13/12

The following is the e-mail response from Peter Piper Pizza when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for contacting us at Peter Piper Pizza about available vegan products. You will be happy to know that we do not use animal or dairy products in our Original or our Ultra Thin crusts. However, our Pan Crust and Hand Tossed Crusts do have Dairy products in them, so they would not be considered vegan.

Our salads are another excellent choice for vegan guests. Ordered without cheese , meats or croutons(which have dairy in them) they too, can be vegan friendly. Our Balsamic vinaigrette is the only salad dressing that is within your dietary guide line.

As to your question about L-Cysteines in our products; as I’m sure your aware, L-Cysteins are a group of specific amino acids found naturally in many meats and some vegetables. Because they are a trace compound and not an ingredient in and of themselves, it would be impossible for me to know accurately the quantities and source of them in our products. Typically, they are present in significant amounts in garlic and onions, two ingredients that we use often in our recipes.

Thank you again for contacting us at Peter Piper Pizza, I hope that the information I have provided helps you in making informed menu selections at our restaurants. If you need more assistance with questions concerning our food products, please feel free to contact me again.

Do you know if l-cysteine is used as a dough conditioner in your crust and bread products?

The short answer to your question is that L-Cysteine is not an ingredient in any of our flours or flour based products. Neither do we use any products to condition our dough that has L-Cysteine in it.