Planet Sub E-mail

Received: 02/24/12

The following is the e-mail response from Planet Sub when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank you for your inquiry on the Planet Sub website. L-Cysteine is not listed as an ingredient in any of our components of our bread. Our bread does contain whey. I believe the whey would keep our bread from being classified as Vegan. Our tortillas do not have dairy however they do have L-cysteine.

The L-cysteine is animal based. We are looking at our bread recipe and other tortillas to see if we can accommodate the vegan diet better.

Our dressings are Kens brand. The possible vegan dressings are oil/vinegar and Golden Italian (sobean oil, vinegar, water, high fructose corn syrup, salt, garlic, xanthan gum, onion, red bell pepper, spice, lemon juice concentrate, dextrose, beta carotene, paprika).

We do offer five grain tempeh (marinated in oil/vinegar, soy sauce and some spices). This would be good added to the salad.

Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with.