SONIC Drive-In E-mail

Received: 08/02/12

The following is the e-mail response from SONIC Drive-In when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Please see below the answers to your questions. Have a great day! I have also included a copy of our Allergen guide.

1) Apple slices can be ordered without caramel sauce. (Apple slices are pre-packaged and the sauce is an individual packaged item as well)
2) Currently our slush syrups listed on the menu do not contain dairy. We do have limited time offers sometimes that could potentially include a different syrup that may or may not contain dairy. Please refer to our website Allergen guide or inquire at a drive-in or our customer comment line if there are questions about a syrup not listed on our allergen guide.
a. Note: All cream slush products contain dairy, as cream is added to the slush.
3) Currently we do not have salad dressings. Salads were taken off our menu in May 2011 and we no longer have salad dressing packages.
4) We do not have any certified vegan sauces or salad dressings.
5) Sauerkraut ingredients – Cabbage,water,kraut juice,salt,sodium benzoate as a preservative, and sodium bisulfite for color retention
6) Sweet Pickle Relish ingredients – Pickles, Sugar, Water, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Calcium Chloride, Spices, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Benzoate (Preservative), Natural Flavors, Yellow 5, FD&C Blue 1, Polysorbate 80.

This information does not identify all ingredients and may use generalized terms that may not adequately inform a person of the presence of all food substances that may produce an allergic reaction in some individuals. Therefore, persons who are allergic to certain food substances are warned not to rely upon this allergen guide as a medical guide for allergens. Products containing allergens (e.g., peanuts, fish, eggs, milk, soy, wheat, tree nuts, shellfish, etc.) are used in the restaurants and may come in contact with other foods and drinks. Fried foods may be exposed to gluten and allergens. Because all products may have come in contact with a trace amount of animal-derived ingredients, no menu items have been certified as vegetarian. Allergen information was current at the time of publication but may change without notice when product formulations,
ingredients or suppliers change.