Swensen's E-mail

Received: 08/06/08

The following is the e-mail response from Swensen’s when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Depends upon the definition of vegan. True vegans do not eat dairy or other foods that come from animals.

However, if the definition is “no direct animal products” or “no meat”, then we don’t use any by products. The milk ingredients and modified milk ingredients are from milk, but the sugar, stabilizer, emulsifier and flavor ingredients are all from vegetable sources.

Hope this answers your question.