Tim Horton's E-mail

Received: 08/11/09

The following is the e-mail response from Tim Horton’s when asked which of their menu items are vegan:

Thank-you for your interest in Tim Hortons products. Please find attached a copy of the animal fats and by-products information sheet.

Please be advised that due to the possibility of ingredient transfer that can occur in the production process at Tim Hortons restaurants, Tim Hortons recommends that anyone with a food allergy refrain from consuming our products. The welfare of our customers is our first concern and we are hopeful our recommendation will be accepted.

We hope this information will help to clarify your dietary concerns with
Tim Hortons Products. Please call us again on the customer service number at 1-888-601-1616 if you require more information.

http://www.timhortons.com/ca/en/menu/menu_info.html#5

Please note that all L-Cysteine is from a synthetic source.

This, and more information, can be found on our website at:
http://www.timhortons.com/ca/en/menu/menu_info.html

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian: A person following a Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian diet does not eat meat. They may consume egg & dairy products. Please refer to our Animal Content Statement for a listing of products that may meet your
requirements.

Lacto Vegetarian: A person following a Lacto-Vegetarian diet does not eat meat or egg products but can consume dairy products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy which discusses the nature of the bakery environment in terms of
ingredient transfer.

A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:

Yeast Donuts (Apple Fritter, Blueberry Fritter, Boston Cream, Canadian Maple, Dutchies, Powdered Filled Donuts, Chocolate Dip, Honey Dip, Maple Dip and Vanilla Dip)

Cinnamon Rolls

Oatcakes (cookie)

Low Fat Muffins (Cranberry, Blueberry)

Bagels

Sandwich Buns

Soup Rolls

Tea Biscuits (excluding Ham and Cheese)

Vegan: A person following a Vegan diet will not eat meat of any kind and will not consume any dairy or egg products. We suggest that you first please refer to our Animal Content Statement and review our Allergen Policy (end of this e-mail) which discusses the nature of the bakery environmentvin terms of ingredient transfer.

A few of the products that should be suitable for this class of vegetarian, however, are as follows:

Bagels

Sandwich Buns

Soup Rolls

Oatcakes (cookie)

ALLERGEN POLICY

If you have a food allergy, please be aware that Tim Hortons products may contain, or have come into contact with, peanuts, nuts or other possible allergens. Tim Hortons is a bakery environment, serving baked goods that are not in sealed packages. Therefore, we unfortunately cannot guarantee a 100% allergy-free environment.

The following chart outlines the type of animal content in each of our soups. Please check for updates periodically as this information is subject to change. For allergen information or a list of ingredients, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616.

SOUP/TYPE OF ANIMAL CONTENT

Baked Beans (Quebec Only)/Pork

Cauliflower & Cheese/Milk


Chicken Noodle/Chicken, Egg, Milk
Chicken Vegetable Rice/Chicken, Milk

Chili/ Beef

Clam Chowder/ Fish and Shellfish, Milk

Cream Of Asparagus/Milk

Cream Of Broccoli/Milk

Creamy Field Mushroom/Milk

Hearty Mixed Vegetable/ No animal content

Italian Florentine/Chicken, Beef, Milk

Minestrone/Pork/Beef (flavor), Milk

Potato Bacon/Pork (Bacon), Milk

Split Pea With Ham/Chicken, Pork (Ham), Milk

Tomato Parmesan/Milk

Turkey & Wild Rice/Turkey, Chicken, Milk, Egg, Gelatin (Pork), Beef

Vegetable Beef & Barley/Beef

The following Tim Hortons baked goods have been produced without the use of animal fats and by-products (including gelatin and rennet). Please note these products may contain milk or egg.

Donuts & Timbits

Danishes & Croissants (excluding Cheese)

Muffins

Tea biscuits (excluding Ham & cheese)

Cookies

Bagels

In addition:

All donuts are cooked in 100% vegetable based fats

All donut glaze is completely vegetable based

All L-cysteine is from a synthetic source

The mono- and diglycerides of all Tim Hortons products are vegetable based.

If you require any further nutrition or allergen information, please call our customer service line at 1-888-601-1616 (Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time).